Sunday, September 30, 2012

Sydney Swans Knock Off Highly-Regarded Hawthorn For Aussie Rules Title

At Melbourne, Australia:

The Sydney Swans upset the Hawthorn Hawks by 91 points (14 goals and 7 behinds) to 81 (11 and 15) on Saturday at the Melbourne Cricket Ground to win the Australian Football League Premiership Grand Final.  It was the Swans' second Grand Final crown (2005) since relocating from South Melbourne in 1982. Kieren Jack, Josh Kennedy, Nick Malceski, Jarrad MeVeigh, and Mitch Morgan each scored two goals (six points apiece) for Sydney, while Lance Franklin scored three goals to pace Hawthorn.  Here are the Happy Swans with the AFL Premiership trophy.  

Daily Telegraph photo (below)

Sydney Swans

No comments:

Post a Comment